The European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize is awarded to the “brave” Ukrainian people

The European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize is awarded to the “brave” Ukrainian people

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought was awarded by the European Parliament on Wednesday to the “brave” Ukrainian people facing the Russian invasion.

“This award is dedicated to Ukrainians fighting on the ground. All who were forced to flee. To all who have lost loved ones and friends. To all those who are resisting and fighting for their faith,” said the President of the European Parliament, Roberta Metsola, announcing the election of the institution in the Strasbourg Hemicycle.

“I know that the courageous people of Ukraine will not give in, and neither will we,” she added, stressing that Ukrainians also risked their lives “to protect the values ​​we all believe in: freedom, democracy , right state “.

The distinguished Ukrainian people are represented “by their President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, their elected officials and civil society,” she said.

In the face of Russia’s “pure acts of terrorism” in Ukraine, which were again denounced by European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen on Wednesday morning, the candidacy of the Ukrainian people has achieved “consensus” among the parliamentary groups.

Two other finalists were in the running: London-imprisoned WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange and Colombia’s Truth Commission, a body investigating human rights abuses during the armed conflict with FARC guerrillas.

Established in 1988, the Sakharov Prize “For Freedom of Thought” is awarded each year to people or organizations that work for human rights and fundamental freedoms. It is endowed with a sum of 50,000 euros.


It is always my pleasure to provide insightful information on important topics and if you have learned something from my article then I thank you for taking the time to share it with your friends or family.

We put a lot of heart and invest a lot of time trying to bring you the most interesting articles.
You would encourage us to do it even better in the future. Thank you!

Related Posts: